Grossmann Award


Grossmanova nagrada

Trubarjeva 3 1000, Ljubljana

Visit website
Founded by

Organized by

Organized by
Academy of Theatre, Radio, Film and Television (AGRFT)

The Grossmann Award was introduced in 1995 as an anonymous screenwriting competition meant for students of all Slovene universities. It is organised by the Academy of Theatre, Radio, Film and Television (AGRFT) which also selects the jury members (its professors and a student representative). The jury bestows the award to the best original screenplay for a short fiction film or short TV drama. The winner also gets 1,000 Euros while the Academy is given the right to shoot a film or TV drama based on the awarded script or an adaptation of it.

The first award was bestowed to Jan Cvitkovič, at the time a student of archaeology and now one of the most promising young film directors in Slovenia (in 2001 he won the Lion of the Future award at the 2001 Venice Film Festival). Recent awards were received by Nejc Gazvoda, Barbara Zemljič, Matevž Luzar, Sara Kern, and Rene Maurin.